© Doron Oved

Call for proposals

MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) is a multi-disciplinary venue with an intercultural mandate that presents professional contemporary artists. The only space in Montreal with such a mandate, MAI showcases works reflecting current cultural practices which draw from cultural diversity and are inviting to the audience.

An incubator for the arts favourable to reflection and research, a space for dialogue and exchange between cultures that allows many different partners to collaborate, MAI has the mandate of supporting creation, presentation and outreach for intercultural arts.

MAI presents original creations in dance, music, theater (in both French and English), multidisciplinary arts, visual and media arts. Within projects of local, national and international significance, MAI presents emerging, mid-career and established artists while focussing particularly on artists from cultural communities.
MAI therefore welcomes artists and organizations to submit their projects and residency proposals. Projects must be intercultural in nature.

Please note that all artists will be notified in writing, between eight to twelve weeks after the submission date.



Submissions are accepted on an ongoing basis. Please note that your dossier must be received by November 30th in order to be considered for the following season. Exhibitions are scheduled between September and the end of May in any given season.

Print version: Call for proposals, visual and media arts (format PDF) [248Ko]

The MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) invites artists in the fields of visual and media arts to submit their projects on an ongoing basis. Artists, collectives, independent curators, as well as organizations may submit a project for an individual or a group exhibition. Selected artists may benefit from extended setup periods in the gallery and technical residencies. Artists are offered the opportunity to participate in auxiliary activities such as workshops, conferences and artist talks. The MAI accepts projects from local, national or international artists. We offer technical, promotional and administrative support and a guaranteed fee as per CARFAC guidelines.

Projects must be intercultural in nature*.

Preference is given to original creations that are designed for MAI’s space and have not been presented in Montreal before. Please note that the size of the gallery is 39’ x 65’ or 13.87m x 23.13m, therefore projects making ample use of the gallery, such as installations, video screenings, etc. are our first choice although the disciplines of painting, sculpture, photography, etc. are not excluded.

Required documents:

1) Artistic description of the project.
This descriptive text, along with floor plan if applicable, details the project and lists the materials used and technical requirements for the piece(s). Please mention intended exhibition dates.

2) Description of the project’s intercultural approach.

3) Detailed artist statement (intent and creative process). For group exhibitions, please submit each artist’s statement.

4) Detailed curator statement, if applicable.

5) Curriculum vitae for each artist and the curator if applicable.

6) Twenty (20) clearly identified digital images (jpeg- 1024 × 768 @ 72 dpi), specifying which digital images are related to the project and which are of recent work. Please include a detailed image list for the visual material (title, date, dimensions, and medium).

7) A press kit, publication or other relevant documents.

8) Names and contact information of the project coordinator and / or collaborators.

9) A preliminary budget indicating how the artist anticipates covering costs exceeding the artist fee and technical help provided by the MAI. This forecast should include anticipated or confirmed sources of revenue, and those costs to be assumed by the MAI. Please note: The MAI generally contributes to the cost of travel, accommodation and a minimum amount to the installation of the exhibition (construction, paint. etc.). The MAI does not assume productions costs.

Important:

Please comply with the following guidelines when sending your documents:

  • your documents should be compatible with Mac, Window and Linux.
  • jpeg format suggested, images should not exceed 500 KB or 1024 × 768 pixels.
  • identify each image with a number and a title corresponding to the descriptive list
  • please do not send originals.
  • for video documentation, please send vimeo or youtube links.<
  • We encourage submissions via wetransfer, but you can send your proposal by mail if you prefer to do so. A self-addressed stamped envelope (SASE) must be included should you wish for your support material to be returned.

Proposals can be sent C/O:
MAI (Montréal,arts interculturels)
Visual arts programming committee
3680, Jeanne-Mance Street, Suite 103
Montreal (Quebec), H2X 2K5

514 982-1812, ext. 230
production@m-a-i.qc.ca

Please note that all artists will be notified in writing, but due to the high volume of proposals received by the MAI, response time may vary.

*The MAI’s Intercultural Vision
The MAI offers a space for exploring intercultural art practices and articulations of ‘intercultural’ as a form. These practices are based on exchanges between artists of differing cultures and, to a great degree, on the notion of identity. This approach requires a commitment to dialogue as the very core of the process, with an emphasis on the development of hybrid forms.

Cross-cultural creation not only provides a dynamic field for questioning intercultural exchange, but also allows for a reflection on the very essence of art and on the necessary conditions for its renewal. Intercultural art practices that incorporate mixed approaches and that create original artistic languages can also lead to fundamental changes in traditional art forms.



Submissions are accepted on an ongoing basis. Please note that your dossier must be received by November 30th in order to be considered for the following season. Performances are scheduled between September and the end of May in any given season.

Print version: Call for proposals in performing arts (format PDF) [248Ko]

The MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) invites multidisciplinary and performing arts professionals to submit their creation projects on an ongoing basis. Artists and organizations may submit projects in dance, theatre (French or English), music, multidisciplinary arts, and performance art. Programmed artists may benefit from extended set-up periods in the theatre, creation and technical residencies. The MAI offers technical, promotional and administrative support as well as a guaranteed fee for the producer. The MAI accepts projects from local, national or international artists.

MAI presents artists of different origins and milieus, who question or challenge their cultural backgrounds while also reflecting them, and whose works may be iconoclastic or that engage in open dialogue with tradition. Among professional artists presented by MAI are Teesri Duniya Theatre, Jerusalem in my Heart, Roger Sinha, Zab Maboungou, Elfin Saddle, Dana Michel, Black Theatre Workshop, Arkadi Zaides, Sasha Kleinplatz, Alvin Erasga Tolentino, Lara Kramer, Rachid Ouramdane, Ismael Mouaraki, Kaha:wi Dance Theatre, Mohsen El Gharbi, Su-Feh Lee & Benoit Lachambre, Geeta, Alexandra “Spicey” Landé, La Bronze, Aharona Israel, and many more!

Projects must be of an intercultural nature. Preference is given to original creations that are designed for MAI’s space and have not been presented in Montreal before..

Requested documents:

1. Project description, detailing the artist’s intent and approach.
Please also include:
• Intended dates for presenting the show, number of performances
• Preliminary setup schedule.
• List of technical requirements (refer to Theatre technical rider), including a preliminary budget.
• Synopsis or texts, when applicable.

2. Description of the project’s intercultural approach.

3. Artist or company’s vision statement, detailing the creative process and listing past projects.

4. List of artists, participants and partners involved. Curriculum vitae or bio of the main artists.

5. Video documentation. Please send Vimeo or YouTube links. If you are unable to provide links, please submit a USB key or DVD. Indicate if the videos are specific to the proposed project, related or from previous or recent works.

6. Copies of the press kit, program or other related documents.

7. Contact information of the person in charge of the project.

We are also interested in attending your shows, public performances or other artistic activities.

Your submission must be sent via wetransfer the following address and should be contained in one email of a maximum size of 10MB. Should you prefer to send your proposal by mail, a self-addressed stamped envelope (SASE) must be included if you wish for your support material to be returned.

Paper-version proposals can be sent C/O:
MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)
Performing arts committee
3680, Jeanne-Mance Street, Office 103
Montréal (Quebec) H2X 2K5

For all inquiries contact
Erika Kierulf 514 982-1812, ext. 230
Michael Toppings 514 982-1812, ext 224

Please note that all artists will be notified in writing, between eight to twelve weeks after the submission date.

The MAI’s Intercultural Vision

MAI offers a space for exploring new artistic intercultural practices. These practices are based on intercultural relations: exchanges between individuals or groups of defined identities.
This approach requires a commitment to the notion of dialogue as the very core of the process, and an emphasis on developing the forms of this hybridization. In this perspective, MAI contributes to the development of intercultural artistic practices by offering residencies to professional artists and collectives, providing an opportunity to develop fully-realized, mature works, in addition to encounters with the public and collaborations.

Cross-cultural creation not only provides a dynamic field for questioning intercultural relations, but also allows for a reflection on the very essence of art and on the necessary conditions for its renewal. Intercultural artistic practices also lead to fundamental changes in traditional artistic disciplines. Interdisciplinary productions that incorporate mixed artistic approaches and create new and original artistic languages are therefore included in MAI’s regular season, as well as through special activities and its Series Public Plus.

Ville de Montréal Conseil des arts du Canada Ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine Ministère du patrimoine canadien | Department of Canadian Heritage     Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec     Emploi-Québec


All images contained on this site are protected by copyright laws. Any reproduction is strictly forbidden. | © 2012-2014 MAI

© Doron Oved

Appels de dossiers

Le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) est un diffuseur pluridisciplinaire en art contemporain professionnel, à vocation interculturelle. Seul lieu de diffusion montréalais investi d’un tel mandat, le MAI présente des œuvres actuelles, engageantes pour le public et puisant aux diverses cultures du monde.

Véritable incubateur permettant la recherche et la réflexion, lieu d’échanges et de dialogue entre les cultures stimulant la collaboration de différents partenaires, le MAI a pour mission d’appuyer la création, la diffusion et le rayonnement des arts interculturels auprès d’un public diversifié.

Le MAI présente des créations originales en danse, musique, théâtre (en français et en anglais), arts multidisciplinaires, arts visuels et médiatiques. Dans le cadre de projets locaux, nationaux et internationaux, le MAI accueille des artistes émergents, à mi-carrière ou confirmés, et soutient tout particulièrement les artistes issus des communautés culturelles.

Le MAI invite donc les artistes et les organismes à soumettre leurs projets de diffusion et/ou de résidence. Ces projets doivent s’inscrire dans une démarche interculturelle.

Veuillez noter que les résultats seront transmis par écrit, entre huit et douze semaines après la date de soumission.



Le MAI reçoit en tout temps les propositions d’exposition. Veuillez noter que votre dossier doit être reçu avant le 30 novembre afin d’être considéré pour la saison suivante (septembre à mai).

Version imprimable : Appel de projets en arts visuels et médiatiques (format PDF) [248Ko]

Le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) invite les artistes en arts visuels et médiatiques à proposer leur projet de création en tout temps. Les artistes, collectifs, commissaires d’exposition, ainsi que les organismes peuvent présenter un projet d’exposition collective ou individuelle. Il est également possible de bénéficier d’une résidence ou encore d’une période de montage prolongée dans la galerie et d’organiser des conférences, ateliers ou visites guidées. Nous acceptons des propositions aussi bien locales, nationales qu’internationales. Le MAI offre le soutien technique et administratif et un cachet d’artiste selon les normes du Canadian Artists’ Representation/Le Front des artistes canadiens (CARFAC).

Ces projets doivent s’inscrire dans une démarche interculturelle*.

Le MAI privilégie les créations originales, inédites à Montréal et conçues pour nos espaces. Compte tenu des dimensions de la galerie (13.87 m x 23.13 m ou 39’ x 65’), la priorité sera accordée aux projets faisant appel à un certain déploiement dans l’espace comme les installations en arts médiatiques (projections vidéographiques, art sonore, etc.) sans exclure les disciplines de la peinture, de la
sculpture, de la photographie, etc.

Le dossier doit être composé de :

1) Description artistique du projet.
Ce texte descriptif, accompagné s’il y a lieu d’un plan de salle, détaille le projet en énumérant les matériaux utilisés, les caractéristiques physiques et les besoins techniques de la (des) pièce(s) exposée(s). Veuillez préciser également la période envisagée de l’exposition.

2) Description du caractère interculturel du projet.

3) Texte détaillé sur la démarche de l’artiste (de chaque artiste dans le cas d’une exposition collective).
Ce texte décrit la pratique artistique de l’artiste, et l’importance qu’aura la présentation d’une exposition au MAI sur l’avancement de sa carrière.

4) Texte d’intention détaillé expliquant la démarche du commissaire s’il y a lieu.

5) Curriculum vitæ de chaque artiste et du commissaire s’il y a lieu.

6) Vingt (20) images numériques (jpeg – 1024 × 768 × 72 ppi) représentant le travail actuel de l’artiste.
Veuillez joindre une liste décrivant chaque image (titre, dates, dimensions et techniques utilisées). Veuillez préciser s’il s’agit des œuvres originales suggérées pour une exposition au MAI ou s’il s’agit d’œuvres similaires à celles proposées précédemment.

7) Copies du dossier de presse, de publications ou de tout autre document pertinent.

8) Coordonnées du responsable du projet et de ses partenaires s’il y a lieu.

9) Un devis financier indiquant comment l’artiste compte prendre en charge les dépenses liées à la production et à l’installation de son oeuvre, au-delà des heures de techniciens et du cachet offert par le MAI. Les prévisions budgétaires incluent vos sources de financement (confirmée ou non), et les dépenses que le MAI devra assumer s’il y a lieu. À noter que le MAI pourrait assumer des coûts minimum associés au transport, à l’hébergement et à l’installation incluant une construction minimale (peinture, etc.) Le MAI n’assume aucun frais de production.

Important :

Veuillez respecter les indications suivantes pour vos documents numériques.

  • - votre demande doit être contenue dans une seule par wetransfer de maximum 10 MB.
  • - vos documents doivent être compatibles avec Mac, Windows et Linux
  • - format jpeg suggéré n’excédant pas 500 KB ou 1024 × 768 pixels
  • - numérotez et identifiez chaque image avec le titre correspondant à la liste descriptive
  • - veuillez ne pas envoyer d’œuvres originales
  • - pour la documentation vidéo, veuillez envoyer des liens vimeo ou youtube.
  • - Nous encourageons l’envoi de dossiers électroniques via wetransfer à production@m-a-i.qc.ca. Si vous préférez envoyer des documents par la poste, il vous est également possible de le faire. Veuillez inclure une enveloppe pré-affranchie pour le retour des documents soumis par la poste.

Les dossiers peuvent être acheminés par la poste à l’adresse suivante :

MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)
Comité en arts visuels
3680, rue Jeanne-Mance, bureau 103
Montréal (Québec) H2X 2K5

Pour toute question et demande d’information veuillez communiquer avec
Erika Kierulf, Coordonnatrice des productions
Téléphone : 514 982-1812, poste 230

Veuillez noter que les résultats seront transmis par écrit, mais en raison du volume élevé de propositions reçues par le MAI, les délais de réponses peuvent varier.

*La démarche interculturelle du MAI

Le MAI offre un espace pour l’expérimentation des nouvelles pratiques artistiques interculturelles, axé sur la relation interculturelle conçue comme un échange entre des individus ou des groupes ayant leur propre identité. Cette démarche exige de placer la notion de dialogue au centre de toute intervention et de développer les formes de ce métissage.

Les croisements culturels donnent lieu à un questionnement dynamique non seulement sur les échanges interculturels, mais aussi sur l’essence même de l’art et sur les conditions nécessaires à son renouvellement. La pratique artistique interculturelle amène l’intégration de différentes approches et la création d’un langage artistique inusitée se révélant propice aux mutations des formes
d’arts traditionnelles.



Le MAI reçoit en tout temps les propositions en arts de la scène. Veuillez noter que votre dossier doit être reçu avant le 30 novembre afin d’être considéré pour la saison suivante (septembre à mai).

Version imprimable: Appel de projets en arts de la scène (format PDF) [248Ko]

Le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) invite les professionnels en arts de la scène à soumettre leurs projets de création en tout temps. Les artistes et les organismes peuvent soumettre un projet de diffusion en danse, théâtre (en français ou en anglais), musique, chanson, arts multidisciplinaires et performance. Les artistes programmés peuvent bénéficier d’un montage prolongé dans le théâtre, d’une résidence de création en salle de répétition ou d’une résidence technique. Le MAI offre le soutien technique, promotionnel, et administratif ainsi qu’un cachet garanti aux artistes. Le MAI accepte les projets des artistes locaux, nationaux ou internationaux.

Le MAI présente des artistes de diverses origines et milieux qui questionnent, confrontent et reflètent leurs bagages respectifs, et dont les oeuvres peuvent être iconoclastes ou en dialogue avec la tradition. Parmi les artistes et compagnies présentés, on retrouve : Teesri Duniya Theatre, Jerusalem in my Heart, Roger Sinha, Zab Maboungou, Elfin Saddle, Dana Michel, Black Theatre Workshop, Arkadi Zaides, Sasha Kleinplatz, Alvin Erasga Tolentino, Lara Kramer, Rachid Ouramdane, Ismael Mouaraki, Kaha:wi Dance Theatre, Mohsen El Gharbi, Su-Feh Lee & Benoit Lachambre, Geeta, Alexandra “Spicey” Landé, La Bronze, Aharona Israel, et de nombreux autres !

Ces projets doivent s’inscrire dans une démarche interculturelle. Le MAI privilégie les créations originales, conçues pour les espaces du MAI et n’ayant jamais été présentées à Montréal.

Documents requis:

1. Description artistique du projet, précisant les intentions des créateurs.
Veuillez également préciser :

- Dates prévues de diffusion, nombre de représentations

- Calendrier de montage préliminaire

- Fiche technique (veuillez consulter la fiche technique du Théâtre)

- prévisions budgétaires du projet (qui incluent vos sources de financement (confirmée ou non), et la contribution attendue du MAI.

- Texte ou synopsis du projet, si pertinent.

2. Description du caractère interculturel du projet.

3. Texte détaillé sur la démarche artistique de la compagnie ou de l’artiste.
Veuillez également nous faire part de vos principales réalisations.

4. Liste des artistes, des participants et des partenaires du projet.
Veuillez joindre le curriculum vitæ ou les notes biographiques des principaux créateurs.

5. Documentation vidéo. Joignez un lien Vimeo ou YouTube. Si vous ne pouvez pas fournir de liens, veuillez nous envoyer les vidéos sur support USB ou DVD. Veuillez préciser s’il s’agit de la production proposée au MAI ou s’il s’agit d’une oeuvre similaire à la production proposée.

6. Copies du dossier de presse, de programmes ou de tout autre document pertinent.

7. Coordonnées du responsable du projet.

Il est également pertinent de nous inviter à vos spectacles, exercices publics ou à toute autre activité artistique.

Votre demande doit être contenue dans une seule envoie (maximum 10 MB) par wetransfer à l’adresse suivante.

Si vous préférez envoyer des documents par la poste, il vous est également possible de le faire. Veuillez inclure une enveloppe préaffranchie pour le retour des documents soumis par la poste.

Les dossiers peuvent être acheminés par la poste à l’adresse suivante :

MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)
Comité en arts de la scène
3680, Jeanne-Mance Street, Office 103
Montréal (Québec) H2X 2K5

Pour toute question et demande d’information, veuillez communiquer avec :
Erika Kierulf 514 982-1812, ext. 230

Michael Toppings 514 982-1812, ext 224

Veuillez noter que les résultats seront transmis par écrit, mais en raison du volume élevé de propositions reçues par le MAI, les délais de réponses peuvent varier.

La démarche interculturelle du MAI

Le MAI offre un espace pour l’expérimentation des nouvelles pratiques artistiques interculturelles, axé sur la relation interculturelle conçue comme un échange entre des individus ou des groupes ayant leur propre identité. Cette démarche exige de placer la notion de dialogue au centre de toute intervention et de développer les formes de ce métissage.

Les croisements culturels donnent lieu à un questionnement dynamique non seulement sur les échanges interculturels, mais aussi sur l’essence même de l’art et sur les conditions nécessaires à son renouvellement. La pratique artistique interculturelle amène l’intégration de différentes approches et la création d’un langage artistique inusitée se révélant propice aux mutations des formes d’arts traditionnelles.

Ville de Montréal Conseil des arts du Canada Ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine Ministère du patrimoine canadien | Department of Canadian Heritage     Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec     Emploi-Québec


Les oeuvres apparaissant sur ce site sont protégées par le droit d’auteur ; il est strictement interdit de les reproduire. | © 2012-2014 MAI